Author Topic: Remapping keys  (Read 2204 times)

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Remapping keys
« on: April 03, 2012, 11:23:55 AM »
hey guys just curious, does anyone know of a decent program i can use to remap the remote keys??

I"m thinking that if the remote buttons use the same keys as the keyboard then they could be remapped to do other things.

I.E the power button on the remote is "end" on the keybaord, i tried to remap my end key to shut down the computer but nothing happened.

likewise i'd like to program a button on the remote to open task manager on the computer.
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

jukejohn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #1 on: April 03, 2012, 12:20:33 PM »
should be able to get a free one theres a few about google keyremapper
i use one i paid $5 for a few years ago think its doubled in price now but
well worth it and very easy to use and will remap anything and as far
as im aware is simply called keyremaper any probs let me know

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #2 on: April 08, 2012, 07:52:20 AM »
hey thanks mate, paid for the program you mention but i still cant get it to remap my power button??

It works for any other keys though i.e i remapped page up to be a num lock and all was good. i wonder why it dosent like the power button??
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #3 on: April 08, 2012, 08:29:30 AM »
does anyone know a way i can do it in the registry so "end key=shut down"??
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

jukejohn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #4 on: April 08, 2012, 12:50:52 PM »
might just be better to fit a momentry switch to the cabinet but not in full
view so the machine isnt switched of by user and maybe get a label made
saying a caution message about switching of at the mains ive done this on
a few of my jukes in the past and it worked a treat

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #5 on: April 08, 2012, 12:57:13 PM »
yes i thought about that too, sadly i'm no where near a shop that would sell little buttons, the closest one is 400kms away :)

I've been messing around a program called auto hot keys.....and i wrote a script that seems to be doing the job

0::MsgBox, 52, Warning, Jukebox will now shut down. Proceed?
IfMsgBox, Yes, run, shutdown -s -f -t 0
Return

I had to remap the "end" key to 0, now when i press the power button on the remote control a warning pop up appears and asks me if i want to shut down.

seems to be my best workaround so far :) havent really got a clue what i'm doing though so i've fluked it pretty well up to here :D lol
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

jukejohn

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 725
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #6 on: April 08, 2012, 01:17:10 PM »
sounds like thats done the job

you can get the momentry switches on ebay if you wanted to go that route

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #7 on: April 08, 2012, 01:21:57 PM »
post office is still 300kms away.........i'm way out bush in a little country town but i'm leaving tomorrow so this has to be done today really :)

Its all good i'll work something out :)
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #8 on: April 08, 2012, 02:25:05 PM »
well the script usnt working now..........

0::MsgBox, Warning, Jukebox will now shut down. Proceed?
IfMsgBox, Yes, run shutdown -s -f -t 01
Return

Anyone got any ideas what i've done wrong, when i hit the power on the remote now i get the pop up saying juke will shut down.....but when i hit yes nothing happens :(
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

Steve

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1823
    • Jukeblaster.com
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #9 on: April 08, 2012, 11:05:28 PM »
Hey Stampy

You already have a PC shutdown on your remote control, its the red button top right of your remote (hold it down for 3 seconds).

If it doesnt do what you want, simply go into your VBX control panel and choose the "Shutdown Options" button, and then select the actions you would like.  ;D

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #10 on: April 09, 2012, 12:25:38 AM »
cheers steve, i didnt know you had to hold it down for 3 seconds i'll try it now :)
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!

stampy69

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 223
  • www.awesomex.com.au
    • AwesomeX Mobile DJ & Karaoke Services
Re: Remapping keys
« Reply #11 on: April 09, 2012, 12:32:02 AM »
LOL its actually more like 10 seconds but yes it worked!!!! that makes things easier now :D :D :D

That needs to be put into the instruction manual. I would've never guessed that.
WWW.AWESOMEX.COM.AU - For all your DJ, Karaoke & Jukebox needs!!